Some words about us


ERSA, located in Alsace near the French-German border, is an entity of CLEARSY specialised in the development of software applications for industry. Our knowledge is mainly applied to the transportation business, especially the Railway sector, but we also provide general computer and software services, especially to our local customers.

We are specialised in the production of ERTMS/ETCS related solutions, in the field of simulation tools for research, demonstration, testing and training, but also in safety related products for on-board or trackside applications. We perform also consulting and training activities.

We deliver our products and services mostly in European countries, but also in Asia. Our customers are Railways Undertakers or Infrastructure Managers, Railways Industries and Research Institutes.

History


Founded in 1998 as a part of the former ERRI (European Railway Research Institute), ERSA has participated to the development of the first ETCS simulator in Europe within the frame of the UIC A200 project.

In the frame of a contract with UNISIG (at the time also called “Eurosig”), ERSA provided a set of tools used for the creation of the first independent test bench for ETCS on-board systems in Europe, in the premises of CEDEX in Madrid. As a participant of different European projects, ERSA had the opportunity to develop a number of software products used for the demonstration and testing of ETCS. ERSA has provided simulation solutions to the three Laboratories recognised as references in Europe (CEDEX, DLR and MULTITEL).

ERSA follows very closely the development of new European standards and is currently helping the European Railway Agency and the ERTMS Users Group in the consolidation of the specifications of Baseline 3, by the provision of various simulation tools, especially a functional implementation of the ETCS on-board system (EVC) and the ETCS Driver Machine Interface.

In 2001, ERSA was acquired by AEA Technology PLC (UK), trading as the rail division. The business was sold in 2006 to Vision Capital LLC with the subsequent creation of DeltaRail Group Ltd. In 2015 the company was sold to its Executive Directors.

Software engineering


Industrial projects developed by ERSA are based on the use of quality methods in project production and management. ERSA is certified ISO9001:2015.

The development of the ERSA software follows the classical ‘V’ lifecycle and is based on recognised specification methodologies and design tools (SA-RT, SD, Object Oriented Design (UML)). ERSA is using CENELEC standards for safety related software developments.

Software production


ERSA works in Windows and Linux environments, using as far as possible processes, languages and/or libraries which are independent from the operating systems.

All developments are mainly performed on PCs using operating systems such as Linux and Windows 10, Seven.

The most used programming languages are: C++, C and Python. Most applications are using databases, among them MySQL, SQLite, Oracle, Access.

CORBA is used as an abstract communication mechanism in distributed architecture systems.

Graphical user interfaces are developed using the Qt framework.

Project requirements are traced with Microsoft VSTS, especially for safety related projects.

Configuration management is based on SVN. Support is organised with the use of Redmine.

Project planning is based on a tool named Visual Projet. The SCRUM methodology is currently being implemented in order to improve the organisation and execution of projects. It allows stronger motivation and commitment of the staff and a better involvement of the Customer from the beginning and at each delivery step.

CONSULTING SERVICE

We are providing wide range of Consulting Services & World wide happy Clients

Qui sommes-nous?


ERSA, implantée en Alsace près de la frontière franco-allemande, est une entité de CLEARSY spécialisée dans le développement de logiciels pour l’industrie. Notre savoir-faire s’applique au domaine du transport, et en particulier au secteur ferroviaire, mais nous fournissons également des services informatiques généraux, ceci surtout pour nos clients locaux.

Nous sommes spécialistes de solutions ERTMS/ETCS et proposons à nos clients des outils de simulation pour la recherche, la démonstration, le test et la formation, mais aussi des produits de sécurité pour des applications embarquées ou applications « sol ». Nous proposons également des services et de la formation.

Nous livrons nos produits et services essentiellement dans les pays européens, mais également en Asie. Nos clients sont des sociétés ou industries ferroviaires, des gestionnaires d’infrastructure, des opérateurs ferroviaires et des instituts de recherche.

Logo European Rail Software Applications

Historique


ERSA a été fondée en 1998 en tant que filiale de l’ERRI (European Rail Research Institute), et a ainsi participé au développement du premier simulateur ETCS en Europe dans le cadre du projet UIC A200.

Dans le cadre d’un contrat avec l’UNISIG (qui s’appelait à l’époque « Eurosig »), ERSA a livré un ensemble d’outils utilisés pour la création du premier banc de test indépendant pour des systèmes embarqués ETCS en Europe, et ceci dans les locaux de l’institut CEDEX à Madrid. En participant à différents projets européens, ERSA a eu l’opportunité de développer plusieurs outils logiciels destinés à la démonstration et au test d’ETCS. ERSA a fourni des solutions de test et simulation aux trois laboratoires européens de référence (CEDEX, DLR et MULTITEL).

ERSA suit de très près le développement des normes européennes et aide actuellement l’ERA (l’Agence Ferroviaire Européenne) et le Groupe des Utilisateurs ERTMS (ERTMS Users Group) à consolider les spécifications Baseline 3, en fournissant divers outils de simulation, en particulier une implémentation fonctionnelle du système embarqué ETCS (EVC) et l’interface conducteur machine ETCS (DMI).

En 2001, ERSA a été acquise par AEA Technology PLC (Royaume-Uni), pour le compte de la division ferroviaire. En 2006, l’entreprise a été vendue à l’investisseur international Vision Capital LLC et devient une succursale de DeltaRail Group Ltd. En 2015, la société est rachetée par les membres du conseil d’administration.

Génie logiciel


Les projets industriels développés par ERSA sont basés sur l’utilisation de méthodes de qualité dans la production et la gestion de projet. ERSA est certifiée ISO9001:2015.

Le développement des logiciels ERSA suit le cycle en V classique et est basé sur les méthodologies de spécification et outils de conception reconnus : SA-RT, SD, OOD (Object Oriented Design), UML (Unified Modeling Language). ERSA utilise les normes CENELEC pour réaliser le développement de logiciels sécuritaires.

Développement logiciel


ERSA travaille dans les environnements Windows et Linux en utilisant dans la mesure du possible des processus, langages et/ou librairies indépendants du système d’exploitation.

Les développements sont essentiellement réalisés sur des PCs utilisant des systèmes d’exploitation comme Linux et Windows 10, Seven.

Les langages de programmation les plus utilisés sont : C++, C et Python. La plupart des applications utilisent des bases de données, entre autres MySQL, SQLite, Oracle, Access.

CORBA est utilisé en tant que moyen de communication abstrait dans des systèmes reposant sur une architecture distribuée.

Des interfaces graphiques sont développées en utilisant l’environnement Qt.

Les exigences des projets sont tracées grâce à Microsoft VSTS, en particulier pour les projets demandant un niveau de sécurité.

La gestion de configuration est basée sur l’outil SVN. Le support est organisé en utilisant l’outil Redmine.

La planification des projets est basée sur un outil nommé Visual Projet. La méthodologie SCRUM est en cours d’implémentation afin d’améliorer l’organisation et la réalisation des projets. Elle permet une motivation et un engagement plus important des équipes, ainsi qu’une meilleure implication du Client dès le début et à chaque étape de livraison.

CONSULTING SERVICE

We are providing wide range of Consulting Services & World wide happy Clients